Being a New Mom

Real talk. Being a new mom is hard.

I have been immensely blessed with the cutest boy on the face of the planet (does every mom think this way?). I love him to the moon and back unconditionally. He is my little man. That being said, he is a difficult baby. I know that all babies are difficult at some point or another, but what matters is that being a new mom is just hard work.

I place all the activities of my day into two categories: things I CAN do with a baby, and things I CAN’T.

For instance, doing my hair and getting ready: CAN’T do with a baby. Folding laundry: CAN do with a baby. Doing the dishes: CAN’T. Drinking coffee: CAN. You see where I’m going. So when I put the baby down for a nap, I think about all the things I can’t do with him around, and try to complete those tasks. The only unfortunate part is that I end up working while the baby is napping and forgetting to relax and rest. That makes for a very long day.

On the flip side, sometimes I get bored because there’s nothing left to do around the house. I’m not a natural book-reader (I wish), so reading doesn’t bring me tons of joy (unless on the rare occasion I’m reading a book I can’t put down). If I watch too much Netflix I start to feel more and more like a lazy bum. All my energy seems to be expended on cleaning and keeping the baby happy, so that leaves little to no motivation to work out. I love to sew and I love to quilt, so I’ve thought about picking that hobby back up, but it’s a time consuming activity, takes up lots of space, makes a continuous mess, and can be loud if the baby is napping. It also takes uninterrupted concentration sometimes, which is not practical for this season of life. I might try to make a really easy quilting pattern titled: “For the busy mom.” Haha.

I think it’s extra important for new moms to be friends with other new moms. There’s just some things no one else understands. But more on that later.

The point is, being a new mom is hard. Organizing your day helps. Having a hobby that you love helps. And having a community helps.

Leave a Reply

